You Need A Lot Of Licenses And Permits To Open A Restaurant

You Need A Lot Of Licenses And Permits To Open A Restaurant

To become a restaurant owner is a dream come true. But paperwork and licenses might not have been part of that fantasy! Restaurant licenses and permits vary from state to state, but one thing is the same no matter where you live: if you want to start a restaurant, you’ve got to get some licenses out of the way or risk penalties. Not sure where to start? Luckily, you’ve found the only resource you need when it comes to how to open with all the right licenses and permits.

What kind of licenses and permits do I need?

To open a restaurant, even before you have a restaurant business plan fully flushed out, you’ll want to obtain the proper restaurant licenses and permits. And depending on what kind of restaurant you’re opening, that may mean something different! For example, did you know that there are on-license and off-license liquor licenses? For the most part, every restaurant is going to need a business license and and a food service license. And your staff may need certain permits of their own, too! It’s imperative that as soon as you decide to open a restaurant, you start looking into what your state, Health Department, and local government require of you.

What's inside the eBook

How much do restaurant licenses and permits cost?

Believe it or not, some of the restaurant licenses you’re going to need are going to cost as little as $20. And some are going to cost as much as $40,000. What’s more confusing? The process for some could take months, and others are as easy as going online and doing a Google search. Depending on where your restaurant is located, you’ll need to look into the requirements. That’s always your first step.

What steps do I need to take to open my own restaurant?

The dream of opening a restaurant always starts with delicious food. But you’ll want to start the licensing process early as some of the authorities and regulations have various levels… and some even have renewal processes, too! Be sure to sit down and review all the contents in this guide to ensure there are no detours on your way to that center spread in Food & Wine Magazine.

Did You Know

Did You Know

On any regular Sunday in Maine, you have to wait until 9 am to be able to buy your booze, but not on St. Patrick’s Day.
Did You Know

Did You Know

In many states, it is illegal to allow staff to consume alcohol while they’re still on shift and can result in you losing your license.
Did You Know

Did You Know

Typically, alcohol can be sold in Alaska between 8 am and 5 am, except for election days when liquor stores can’t open until the polls close.